03 Jun 2024

New Schengen-Style Southern Africa Visa to Boost Tourism in Angola, Botswana, Namibia, Zambia, and Zimbabwe


In a landmark decision, five Southern African nations have expanded a regional visa to enhance tourism and streamline cross-border travel, similar to the Schengen Visa.

The new Schengen-style visa for Southern Africa will boost tourism by simplifying travel across Angola, Botswana, Namibia, Zambia, and Zimbabwe. This unified visa, mirroring the European Schengen Visa, allows seamless cross-border travel, attracting more visitors and enhancing the region’s appeal as a top travel destination. This initiative is expected to drive economic growth and strengthen regional cooperation in tourism.

In a groundbreaking move to boost tourism, five Southern African nations have agreed to extend a regional visa scheme that simplifies cross-border travel, akin to the Schengen Visa in Europe. Angola, Botswana, Namibia, Zambia, and Zimbabwe, all members of the Kavango-Zambezi (KAZA) Transfrontier Conservation Area, will now participate in the expanded “univisa.” This visa, which initially covered Zambia and Zimbabwe and allowed short visits to Botswana via Kazungula, aims to increase tourist numbers and streamline travel within the region.

Raed More

Source: Travel And Tour World

Related topics