Ports of entry ready for travellers returning to SA

Government has outlined plans for operations at the ports of entry until 14 January that have been approved by the National Joint Operational and Intelligence Structure (NatJoints).

During this period, traveller volumes are expected to be above normal because of people returning to South Africa.

"The Department of Home Affairs will deploy an additional 160 officials at six busiest land ports of entry to process returning travellers until 14 January 2021," said Minister of Home Affairs, Dr Aaron Motsoaledi.

These include the Beitbridge Border Post with Zimbabwe; Lebombo Border Post with Mozambique; Oshoek Border Post with Kingdom of Eswatini; Maseru Bridge with Lesotho; Ficksburg with Lesotho, and Kopfontein with Botswana.

The Minister was on Wednesday in Pretoria briefing members of the media on immigration matters and border law enforcement under the adjusted Covid–19 alert level 3.

Read more

Source: Bizcommunity