08 Feb 2024

Malawi Implements Visa-Fee Waiver for Travellers from 79 Countries to Bolster Tourism


Malawian President Lazarus Chakwera has embarked on a significant initiative to bolster tourism in Malawi by eliminating entry visa fees for travellers originating from over 79 countries worldwide.

Countries benefiting from this waiver include Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, Canada, China, France, Germany, Jamaica, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, Israel, and the United States of America, among others.

The Malawi government has amended the Immigration Act, effective from 7 February, with the aim of streamlining entry procedures and facilitating smoother access for international visitors.

Under the revised regulations, nationals from the Southern African Development Community (SADC) and the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) are exempt from visa requirements. Additionally, diplomats, government officials, and holders of specific Laissez-Passer documents issued by organisations such as the United Nations (UN) and African Union (AU) are exempt when conducting official business in Malawi.

Moreover, the duration of multiple entry visas has been extended, offering options for stays of up to 6 or 12 months, providing visitors with enhanced flexibility during their visits.

Read more

Source: Nyasa Times