Tourism Minister replaced in South Africa

Marthinus van Schalkwyk is being replaced by Derek Hanekom as the newly appointed Minister of Tourism.

Van Schalkwyk served as a Cabinet minister for 10 years from 2004. The former Tourism Minister confirmed he would ensure “a smooth and seamless handover and transition" between him and his successor, the newly appointed Hanekom, who had previously served as Minister of Science and Technology from 2012-2014. Derek Hanekom was Deputy Minister of Science and Technology having served under then Presidents Kgalema Motlanthe and Thabo Mbeki, and current President Jacob Zuma in May 2009.