Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda Meet to Resolve Tour Operations Issues

The Ministers responsible for Tourism, Wildlife and EAC Affairs from Tanzania, Kenya and Uganda are meeting at the EAC headquarters in Arusha 17 to 21 February 2014 to resolve issues impacting tour operations in the three Partner States.

The three Partner states raised their concern on their tour operators being denied entry into either country in 3rd and 4th Meeting of the Sectoral Council on Tourism and Wildlife Management (SCTWM) in February 2010 and in September, 2011 respectively. The EAC secretariat thus requested each Partner State to present their issues in writing to the so as to enable coordination of the meeting between the three Partner States. Among issues raised were: Partner States denying entry of tourist vehicles registered in other Partner States, harassment of driver guides at the border crossing into another Partner State, disparities in fees charged, cross border cooperation in wildlife law enforcement, cooperation and support in addressing multi-lateral environment agreements.

The Arusha meeting is discussing the said challenges and will also deliberate on how to effectively involve other sectors to improve and enhance cooperation in Tourism and Wildlife Management sectors in line with Articles 115 and 116 of the Treaty for the Establishment of the East African Community.

By Corporate Communications and Public Affairs Department. EAC Secretariat Arusha, Tanzania