EAC Single Tourist Visa Launched

Presidents Uganda, Kenya and Rwanda officially launched the three countries' Single Tourist Visa on 20th February 2014, to go into effect immediately.

Tourists will now be required to pay $100 for a 90-day multiple-entry visa that will allow them to enter all three countries, all of which are members of the East Africa Community (EAC), instead of paying $150 to enter each country in turn.

The tourism boards of Kenya, Rwanda and Uganda now must work on a joint marketing platform, which will be done in the next few weeks. By adopting the single visa, Uganda, Kenya and Rwanda had opened their doors to over one billion potential tourists from all over the world.

Uganda had raised $1.1 billion in tourism revenue in the 2012/13 fiscal year. Kenya had generated the most from tourism in 2012/13, accumulating $3 billion due to its large hotel industry and wildlife. Rwanda, which is still developing its tourism sector, earned only $300,000 in tourism receipts for the same period.